This website is intended to help you fulfill your Section 508 procurement roles & responsibilities by providing you with tools, guidance and resources.

Are you new to Section 508?
Are you new to this site?

Photo of group of professional people in an office.

In 1998, Congress amended the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 to require Federal agencies to make their electronic and information technology (EIT) accessible to people with disabilities. The law applies to all Federal agencies when they "develop, procure, maintain, or use" electronic and information technology. Under Section 508 (29 U.S.C. 794 d), agencies must give persons with disabilities, both Federal employees and members of the public, access to information that is comparable to access available to others.

Featured Section 508 Blog Posts

SAVE THE DATES: The Training subcommittee of the Accessibility Community of Practice of the CIOC announces webinar dates for 2014
Topics will be announced at a future date. As in 2013, On-line registration will be available at www.adaconferences.org/CIOC.

New Video & Multimedia Accessibility Guide
We’re excited to announce a new resource to help government new media workers meet these accessibility mandates. The Video and Multimedia Accessibility Guide, which covers captioning, audio-description, and accessible multimedia players, is available on HowTo.gov.

We are thankful for...
This year the BuyAccessible team is thankful for all the Section 508 Coordinators who work hard to support the implementation of Section 508 within their respective departments and agencies... continue to read "We are thankful for..."

Common Misconception: Section 508 Certification
Section 508 certification doesn't exist. Voluntary Product Accessibility Templates (VPAT) are the best way for vendors to provide accessibility information to the government.
Some people are claiming that ... continue to read "Common Misconception: Section 508 Certification"

What do Federal Government Executives need to know about Section 508?
1. Section 508 of the Rehabilitation Act is a Federal procurement law that requires any EIT products or services that are “developed, procured, maintained, or used” by the Federal Government be accessible to persons with disabilities. It is more than just a procurement law.
2. Continue to read "What do Federal Government Executives need to know about Section 508?"

Note: The current Section 508 standard uses the term, Electronic and Information Technology (EIT). The proposed Section 508 refresh uses the Information and Communication Technology (ICT) terminology which is used world-wide. This site is also using ICT terminology, except in cases where there are citations from the FAR and other reference documents which use EIT.
Subscribe to Be Accessible - the place for Section 508 procurement assistance. RSS